The Classical Music Lover’s Companion to Orchestral Music

Robert Philip
Published by Yale University Press

Robert Philip’s The Classical Music Lover’s Companion to Orchestral Music is an essential guide to 400 popular works.

Robert Philip has compiled an essential handbook for aficionados that will enable you to fully appreciate classical music. Covering 250 years of composition and a wide spectrum of composers – from Corelli to Shostakovich – this insightful and informative guide takes you through 400 of the most frequently performed works, including symphonies, concertos, overtures, suites and ballet scores. Offering intriguing details about each piece while avoiding technical terminology, it will appeal to those with advanced musical knowledge, as well as the non-specialist listener.

Robert Philip is a former producer of arts programmes at the BBC, and a senior lecturer in music at the Open University. He identifies key features in each selection that concert-goers can look for, as well as subtleties and surprises that await the attentive listener, and he includes enough background and biographical information to illuminate the composer’s original intentions. Organised alphabetically from Bach to Webern, this valuable guide can enhance the listening experience for all classical music fans, whether they’re in the concert hall or enjoying recordings at home.

Published by Yale University Press

968 pages


254 mm x 178 mm

Please note that this title is not illustrated

Show More
You May Also Like
The Folio Society ROW
© The Folio Society 2020