The World’s Heritage

The Definitive Guide to All 1,073 World Heritage Sites, Fifth Edition

Published by HarperCollins

The World’s Heritage is a comprehensive and stunning companion guide to all 1,073 UNESCO sites. 

Add To Wish List

In 1972, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) adopted the Convention concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The first sites were inscribed on to a list of World Heritage sites in 1978, and since then the list has expanded to cover 1,073 sites in 167 countries. It includes some of the world’s most famous places – the Acropolis, the Great Barrier Reef and Machu Picchu, to name a few.

The fifth edition of this best-selling UNESCO publication features all the World Heritage sites, including the 26 new sites added in July 2017. Among these was the 1,000th site, Okavango Delta in Botswana, and Myanmar’s first property, Pyu Ancient Cities. Each site is presented with a location map and written description, while more than 750 are illustrated with colour photographs, making this a comprehensive, informative and stunning guide for the armchair traveller. 

Production Details

Published by HarperCollins

960 pages
Over 750 photographs

267 mm x 178 mm