Wolf Hall wins Man Booker Prize

Congratulations to Hilary Mantel, winner of the 2009 Man Booker Prize for her novel Wolf Hall. Set in Tudor England, it is a fictional retelling of the life of Thomas Cromwell, advisor to Henry VIII. Wolf Hall has been the bookmaker’s favourite ever since the longlist was announced in June. The Children’s Book by A.S. Byatt, Summertime by J.M. Coetzee, The Glass Room by Simon Mawer and The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters were the other shortlisted books.

Hilary Mantel is the author of the introduction to the Folio edition of The Siege of Krishnapur by J.G. Farrell, one of our seven editions of Booker prize-winning titles. The others are Possession by A.S. Byatt, Midnight's Children by Salman Rushdie, Oscar & Lucinda by Peter Carey, The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch, The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro and Schindler's Ark by Thomas Keneally.

To read more about the Man Booker Prize, click here.

last modified: Mon, Sep 12th 2011Bookmark and Share
Contact us
  • +1 866-255-8280
  • Email us
  • Clove Building, 4 Maguire Street, London SE1 2NQ
  • Press releases
Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Instagram logo Youtube logo

© The Folio Society 2018