Carol Ann Duffy wins the 2012 PEN Pinter Prize

English PEN has announced Carol Ann Duffy as this year's winner of the PEN Pinter Prize. The award was established in 2009 in memory of the playwright and poet Harold Pinter, and is shared each year by two writers. One recipient is a British writer or writer resident in Britain who not only demonstrates outstanding literary merit but embodies the qualities described by Pinter in his Nobel Prize acceptance speech. The playwright spoke of the writer who casts an 'unflinching, unswerving gaze upon the world' and shows 'a fierce intellectual determination ... to define the real truth of our lives and societies'. The second winner is an international writer of courage who has been persecuted for expressing their beliefs. Past winners include Sir David Hare / Roberto Saviano and Hanif Kureshi / Lydia Cacho.

The prize will be awarded at the British Library on 8 October. The ceremony will feature a special performance from Carol Ann Duffy, who will also announce the winner of the PEN Pinter International Writer of Courage Award.

Duffy introduces the Folio editions of At the Back of the North Wind, The Crimson Fairy Book and A Folio Anthology of Poetry.

last modified: Wed, Jul 25th 2012Bookmark and Share
Contact us
  • +1 866-255-8280
  • Email us
  • Clove Building, 4 Maguire Street, London SE1 2NQ
  • Press releases
Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Instagram logo Youtube logo

© The Folio Society 2018