Jo Shapcott wins Costa Book of the Year Award for Of Mutability

Prize goes to a work of poetry for second year running

This is an exciting month for poetry. The coveted Costa Book of the Year award has been presented to Jo Shapcott for her collection of poems, Of Mutability. Shapcott beat bookmakers' favourite The Hare with the Amber Eyes to scoop the prize, worth £30,000, with a collection judges described as 'very special and unusual and uplifting'. The other titles in contention were Out of Shadows by Jason Wallace, The Hand That First Held Mine by Maggie O'Farrell, and Witness the Night by Kishwar Desai. The Costa Book Awards - formerly the Whitbread Book Awards - recognise the 'most enjoyable' works by authors resident in the UK or Ireland. This is the second year in a row that the Book of the Year award has gone to poetry; last year's winner was A Scattering by Christopher Reid.

In other poetry news, the prestigious T. S. Eliot Prize was awarded to St Lucian poet Derek Walcott for White Egrets, described by judges as 'moving, risk-taking and technically flawless'. Walcott was chosen over nine other poets, including Seamus Heaney and Simon Armitage. The £15,000 award was presented by Valerie Eliot at a ceremony at London's Wallace Collection on January 24th.

If this news inspires you to read more poetry, look no further than A Folio Anthology of Poetry, introduced by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy, herself a past Whitbread and T. S. Eliot Prize winner.

last modified: Mon, Sep 12th 2011Bookmark and Share
Contact us
  • +1 866-255-8280
  • Email us
  • Clove Building, 4 Maguire Street, London SE1 2NQ
  • Press releases
Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Instagram logo Youtube logo

© The Folio Society 2018