J. G. Farrell wins Lost Booker prize

Folio Society author J.G. Farrell has won the Lost Man Booker Prize for his novel Troubles. Set in Ireland in 1919, on the eve of the War of Independence, it tells the story of Major Brendan Archer, who visits Ireland in search of his elusive fiancée, but ends up whiling away the summer at her former home, the Majestic Hotel.

Troubles is the first of Farrell’s Empire trilogy, the second being The Siege of Krishnapur, published by The Folio Society. It beat a shortlist of five other titles: The Birds on the Trees by Nina Bawden, The Bay of Noon by Shirley Hazzard, Fire from Heaven by Mary Renault, The Driver’s Seat by Muriel Spark and The Vivisector by Patrick White.

Ion Trewin of the Man Booker Prize said, ‘Troubles is a novel of such lasting quality that it has never been out of print in the 40 years since it was first published.’

The winner was announced by Lady Antonia Fraser last night at a party at 33 Fitzroy Square in London. The prize was accepted by J G Farrell's brother, Richard Farrell, on behalf of the author, who died in 1979.

To read more about our edition of The Siege of Krishnapur click here. To read about the Lost Man Booker prize click here.

last modified: Mon, Sep 12th 2011Bookmark and Share
Contact us
  • +1 866-255-8280
  • Email us
  • Clove Building, 4 Maguire Street, London SE1 2NQ
  • Press releases
Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Instagram logo Youtube logo

© The Folio Society 2018