Master & Commander in the running for Lost Booker

Three Folio Society authors shortlisted for books published in 1970

Patrick O’Brian is one of three Folio Society authors shortlisted for the Lost Man Booker Prize, a one-off award for books published in 1970. The prize was originally awarded to books published in the previous year, but in 1971 it became an award for the best novel published that year. Now, titles from 1970 are being retrospectively considered by a panel of judges including Rachel Cooke and Tobias Hill.

The longlist of 22 books includes titles by Joe Orton, Melvyn Bragg and H.E. Bates, as well as three Folio authors: Master & Commander by Patrick O’Brian, Troubles by J.G. Farrell and A Fairly Honourable Defeat by author Iris Murdoch. The Siege of Krishnapur by J.G. Farrell and The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch, both Booker prize winners, are also available in Folio Society editions.

The shortlist will be announced in March but, as with the Best of the Booker in 2008, the public will decide the winner by voting via the Man Booker Prize website. The overall winner will be announced in May.

To see the full longlist and read more about the Lost Booker prize click here.

last modified: Mon, Sep 12th 2011Bookmark and Share
Contact us
  • +1 866-255-8280
  • Email us
  • Clove Building, 4 Maguire Street, London SE1 2NQ
  • Press releases
Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Instagram logo Youtube logo

© The Folio Society 2018