Carcanet dominates T. S. Eliot Prize shortlist

Poetry publisher with a unique approach to fostering new talent

Three of the shortlisted poets in this year’s T. S. Eliot Prize for Poetry ) are published by Carcanet. Founded in 1962, Carcanet (the name means a jewelled necklace, with a double meaning of a slave’s collar!) began as a poetry magazine devised to link literary circles at Oxford and Cambridge. It is now a fine publishing house dedicated to providing a platform for contemporary poetry, as well as selected fiction and non-fiction. The shortlisted poets are Fred D'Aguiar, Jane Draycott and Sinead Morrissey, whilst other authors published by Carcanet include William Carlos William, Chinua Achebe, Muriel Spark and Yvor Winters.

We at Folio are great admirers and supporters of Carcanet and wish them best of luck for the T. S. Eliot Prize, to be announced on 18 January 2010. The judges are Simon Armitage, Colette Bryce and Penelope Shuttle. To read more about Carcanet's titles, click here.

last modified: Mon, Sep 12th 2011Bookmark and Share
Contact us
  • +1 866-255-8280
  • Email us
  • Clove Building, 4 Maguire Street, London SE1 2NQ
  • Press releases
Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Instagram logo Youtube logo

© The Folio Society 2018