Save 15% on the Mary Renault set

Mary Renault

Illustrated by Geoff Grandfield

Save 15% when you buy the Mary Renault set

Published price: US$ 277.00


Save 15% on the Mary Renault set

Save 15% when you buy the Mary Renault collection

Our Mary Renault set includes The King Must Die, The Bull From The Sea and The Alexander Trilogy.

The King Must Die
As a child Theseus suffers taunts when he claims his father is Poseidon, the fearsome, earth-shaking god of the sea. At 17 he discovers the truth: he is the son of Aegeus, King of Athens, and his sole heir. Determined to fulfil his destiny, Theseus undertakes the perilous journey to his father’s palace, fighting off bloodthirsty bandits and finding himself crowned king in the Earthling town of Eleusis – a title that comes with a grisly price. Finally reaching Athens, he finds the people in thrall to King Minos of Crete and the terrible monster he feeds with human tributes. It is Theseus, aided by an enamoured Princess Ariadne, who will slay the Minotaur and set the people free…

Mary Renault’s spellbinding novel combines historical research and mythology to form an unforgettable portrait of the legendary founder-hero. A huge success on publication in 1958, it has given us our strongest images of Theseus and the labyrinthine Palace of Knossos, whose ruins can still be seen on Crete today.
Find out more about this edition here.

The Bull From the Sea
In this sequel to Mary Renault’s rousing The King Must Die, a young Theseus returns to Athens to find his father dead and himself the new king. Caught between a hunger for adventure and his own powerful sense of duty, the son of Earth-Shaker Poseidon narrates his eventful life, detailing skirmishes with pirates, the glories of battle and the complex intrigues of the palace itself.
Find out more about this edition here.

The Alexander Trilogy
Few historical novelists have ever rivalled the achievements of Mary Renault. Between 1969 and 1981, in three brilliant novels, she resurrected one of history's most mesmerising figures: Alexander the Great. The Alexander Trilogy tells his extraordinary story, from his childhood in a 'savage' backwater of Greece to his conquest of the known world and the splintering of his empire after his premature death. In these novels Renault does for ancient Greece what Patrick O'Brian did for the Napoleonic era.
Find out more about this edition here.

Production Details

Save 15% on the Mary Renault set book
  • The King Must Die
  • Introduced by Robin Lane Fox
  • Quarter-bound in buckram with Modigliani paper sides, printed with a design Geoff Grandfield
  • Set in Haarlemmer
  • 384 pages
  • Frontispiece and 7 colour illustrations by the artist
  • 9½"x 6¼"
  • Blocked slipcase

  • The Bull from the Sea
  • Quarter-bound in cloth with Modigliani paper sides printed with a design by the artist
  • Set in Haarlemmer
  • 264 pages
  • Frontispiece and 7 colour illustrations
  • Blocked slipcase
  • 9½˝ x 6¼˝

  • The Alexander Trilogy
  • Introduced by Daniel Mandelsohnx
  • Three volumes quarter bound in buckram with Modigliani paper sides
  • Printed with designs by Geoff Grandfield
  • Set in Haarlemmer
  • 1,152 pages in total
  • 24 illustrations in total by the artist
  • 9½" x 6½"

About Mary Renault

Mary Renault was born Eileen Mary Challans in London in 1905. Having trained as a nurse in the mid 1930s she completed her first novel, Purposes of Love, in 1939. Five further contemporary novels followed before she turned her writing focus towards the ancient world. In 1948 she emigrated to South Africa with her lifelong companion, Julie Mullard, and commenced her historical novels of Hellenic life with an account of two male lovers during the Peloponnesian War, The Last of the Wine (1956), which she followed with two books on Theseus, The King Must Die (1958) and The Bull from the Sea (1962). Alongside her biography of Alexander the Great in 1975, her ‘Alexander Trilogy’ stands as her eminent achievement, the first book of which was nominated for the Lost Man Booker Prize in 2010. Mary Renault died in Cape Town in 1983.

About Geoff Grandfield

Geoff Grandfield, who illustrated the award-winning Folio edition of The Alexander Trilogy, has created a series of striking illustrations for The King Must Die. Geoff's previous work for The Folio Society includes Joe Simpson’s Touching the Void, No Cloak, No Dagger by Benjamin Cowburn and The Alexander Trilogy by Mary Renault.


Please sign in to your account to leave a review for Save 15% on the Mary Renault set.

Contact us
  • +1 866-255-8280
  • Email us
  • Clove Building, 4 Maguire Street, London SE1 2NQ
  • Press releases
Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Instagram logo Youtube logo

© The Folio Society 2017